Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible
ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens
must check with the jurisdiction where the firearm is to be used.
In California, the Sheriff and his staff are required to follow strict state and
local guidelines when performing the necessary background checks for
issuing Concealed Carry Weapon licenses. Due to the detailed nature
involved with conducting these background checks, appointment times and
processing times can take multiple weeks. During the application process,
the applicant will be asked to schedule an appointment for a new Concealed
Carry Weapon license.
If the applicant is RENEWING a Concealed Carry Weapon license in
Imperial County, they may not apply until 90 days before the expiration
date listed on their current Concealed Carry Weapon license.
Type of Permit: Standard 2 years
Paid on submission of your application:
$118.00 (Inc. DOJ Livescan Fee - $93.00+ Sheriff Fee - $25.00)
Paid upon the approval of the application: $50.00
$127.00 (Inc. DOJ Livescan Fee - $52.00+ Sheriff Fee - $75.00)
California Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 provide that a Sheriff of a county or the Chief or other head of municipal police department of any city, or city and county, shall issue or renew a license to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person (Concealed Carry Weapon license).
The licensing authority specified in Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 shall issue a license to persons who are not a disqualified person to receive such a license, as determined in accordance
with the standards set forth in Penal Code 26202, meet residential requirements, and have completed a course of training. All applicants for a Concealed Carry Weapon license will be fingerprinted and state and federal records will be checked to determine if they are eligible to possess firearms. Click here to view all categories that would prohibit a person from possessing firearms and being granted a Concealed Carry Weapon license.
California Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 provide that a sheriff of a county or the chief or other head of a municipal police department of any city or city and county shall issue a license to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person (CCW license).
Penal Code section 26175 requires the Attorney General to prescribe a statewide standard
application form for a CCW license. Answering all the questions on the Application does not guarantee the issuance of a Concealed Weapon Permit. The determination whether to issue the license is at the discretion of the licensing authority. Pursuant to California Penal Code section 26160, each licensing authority will have a written policy summarizing their requirements for issuance of a Concealed Weapon Permit. In addition, prior to issuing a Concealed Weapon Permit, the California State Statutes require proof that:
You will need to provide the names and contact information of three persons willing to serve as references. One of the three must be a person described in Penal Code section 273.5, subdivision (b) (your spouse, or former spouse, your cohabitant or former cohabitant, your fiancée, or someone with whom you have, or previously had, an engagement or dating relationship, or the mother or father of your child), if applicable. At least one of the three must be your cohabitant if applicable.
Effective January 1st, 2024, Senate Bill 2 requires that the firearms training course for initial CCW applications be a minimum of 16 hours and for CCW renewal applications by a minimum of 8 hours - Penal Code 26165.
If applying for a NEW Concealed Carry Weapon license a course approved by the County Sheriff’s Office must be completed prior to permit issuance. This course will be a minimum of 16 hours.
If applying for a RENEWAL Concealed Carry Weapon license, a 8 hour course approved by the County Sheriff’s Office must be completed prior to permit issuance.
If applying for a MODIFICATION to your current Concealed Carry Weapon license that includes a firearm change, you will need to submit training certifications from a training vendor approved by the County Sheriff’s Office.
Applicants who have failed to respond to requests, provide required documentation, inactivity, make required payment and/or finalize CCW application requirements within 45 days will forfeit any fees and application will be withdrawn.
For New (Initial) CCW Applications-Three (3) Character Reference Letters from individuals, other than relatives, that reside within the Imperial County. Each Character Reference Letter must include the current written date and the individual’s: name, home address, phone number and signature. Each Letter must also refer to the applicant by their full legal name, reference the individual’s relationship to the applicant and include a recommendation for the applicant in regards to obtaining a CCW Permit.
To view the full Imperial County Sheriff CCW Police, please click on the link below to view CCW Policies and Procedures.
Please contact us for further inquiries.
Please visit the Imperial County Sheriff's Office Website
(https://icso.imperialcounty.org/) or the City of Brawley website
(https://www.brawley-ca.gov/) if Brawley resident. The process
includes filling out the online application through the agency
website, submitting 3 good character letters, 1 of which is from your
spouse or significant other (if N/A, then disregard), oral interview, live
scan fingerprints, and CA DOJ background check. You will also be
required to complete the 16-hour initial class demonstrating safety
and competency as codified per 26165(a) in the CA PC.
You will need to bring the following:
The CA CCW permit is valid for 2 years.
Please visit the Imperial County Sheriff's Office website (https://icso.imperialcounty.org) or the City of Brawley website (https://www.brawley-ca.gov/) for detailed information. The process is to complete the online renewal application, receive approval from the agency, then complete the 4-hour renewal class, with an approved instructor.
The 8-hour CCW course covers a broad range of topics including:
Firearms safety, nomenclature, fundamental techniques, safe
storage, Federal, State, and local laws. There is a myriad of additional
topics covered in the class. The course also includes a written test
and live fire qualification.
Yes. You need to own a minimum of 1 handgun (up to 3) that must
be registered in your name and lawfully owned/possessed in the
State of California.
The more experience and training, the better. However, it is highly
recommended that a CCW applicant has taken a Basic Pistol Course
and/or developed fundamental skills in safe handgun handling
including understanding the universal safety rules, loading, firing
operation, unloading, making safe, and proper
The Basic Pistol course covers a broad range of topics to educate the student on safe handling of a handgun including universal safety rules, firearms nomenclature, ammunition basics, and loading/unloading. There will be significant time focused on the practical techniques including, grip, stance, sighting, trigger mechanics, and recovery.